Holiday rules IN FULL – Every country you can travel to and all the restrictions de-coded

GMB: Sean Fletcher grills Grant Shapps on ‘chaotic’ travel strategy

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

The latest review saw a significant shake-up of England’s traffic light system for travel. Now more than 30 countries are included on England’s green list, which allows for quarantine-free travel abroad. Many fully vaccinated Brits can also take advantage of the new rules and visit amber list countries too.

Where can you go on holiday now?

This week, the Department for Transport announced seven new countries would be added to the travel green list.

Austria, Germany, Slovenia, Slovakia, Romania, Latvia and Norway will all move from the amber to the green list soon, meaning Brits will be able to travel to more European countries this August.

As of 4am on Sunday, August 8, the green list countries will be:

  • Anguilla (Green Watchlist)
  • Antarctica/British Antarctic Territory (Green Watchlist)
  • Antigua and Barbuda (Green Watchlist)
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Barbados (Green Watchlist)
  • Bermuda (Green Watchlist)
  • British Indian Ocean Territory (Green Watchlist)
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Cayman Islands (Green Watchlist)
  • Croatia (Green Watchlist)
  • Dominica (Green Watchlist)
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada (Green Watchlist)
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • Israel and Jerusalem (Green Watchlist)
  • Latvia
  • Madeira (Green Watchlist) – Mainland Portugal and the Azores are on the amber list
  • Malta
  • Montserrat (Green Watchlist)
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands (Green Watchlist)
  • Romania
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands
  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • Taiwan (Green Watchlist)
  • Turks and Caicos Islands (Green Watchlist)

Which countries are on the amber list now?

As well as some green additions, there were also some new additions to the amber list at the latest travel review, including Bahrain, India, Qatar and the UAE.

However, Mexico, Georgia, Reunion and Mayotte were removed from the amber list and added to the red list.

The amber list of countries is extensive and the full list can be found via the Government website.

What are the restrictions for green list countries?

Before travelling to England from a green list country, travellers are required to take a Covid test, including children aged 11 and over.

Travellers must also complete a passenger locator form, and book and pay for a day 2 Covid test.

The day 2 Covid test is taken after arriving back in England, but children aged four and below do not have to take the test.

There isn’t a requirement to quarantine when arriving back from a green list country unless any Covid tests come back as positive.

The quarantine period will also be necessary if instructed by NHS Test and Trace.

Spain, France, Greece & Germany: Latest FCDO updates for travel [INSIGHT]
Dubai holiday: FCDO issues new update amid amber list change [ANALYSIS]
Iain Duncan Smith lashes out at ‘perplexing’ traffic light system [VIDEO]

What are the restrictions for amber list countries?

Anyone who has visited an amber list country in the 10 days before arriving in England will be required to take a Covid test before travelling.

This test must be taken in the three days before travelling to England.

Travellers must also book and pay for COVID-19 tests to be taken after arrival in England, as well as complete a passenger locator form.

After arriving in England, people who have visited amber list countries are required to quarantine at home in the place they are residing for 10 days.

Travellers are also required to take a Covid test on or before day two and on or after day eight.

However, the rules are different for people who have been fully vaccinated for at least 14 whole days before the date they arrived in England.

People who are fully vaccinated with a vaccine approved in the UK, or those vaccinated in a country with a vaccine programme approved by the UK, do not have to quarantine or take a day eight Covid test.

What are the restrictions for red list countries?

British or Irish nationals or those with UK residency rights who have visited a red list country in the 10 days before arriving back in England will be required to quarantine.

Before travelling to England from a red list country, travellers are required to take a COVID-19 test.

The test does not need to be taken by children aged 10 and under.

Travellers are also required to book a quarantine hotel package, including two COVID-19 tests.

From 4am on August 12, the cost of the managed quarantine hotels will rise from £1,750 for one adult in one room for 10 days (11 nights) to £2,285.

The additional rate for one adult or child over the age of 11 will be £1,430, while the additional rate for a child aged five to 11 will remain as £325.

Travellers must also complete a passenger locator form.

Source: Read Full Article