Which countries are on the green list? All 36 countries – full list

Boris Johnson says ‘we have a balanced policy’ on travel

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

The Government has been issuing reviews of the travel traffic light system every three weeks. The outcome of the latest review has now been announced and, to the delight of prospective holidaymakers, several countries have been added to the green list. The green list allows people to travel abroad without needing to quarantine upon arrival in England.

Which countries are on the green list now?

The new countries which will be added to the green list from 4am on Sunday, August 8 are Austria, Germany, Slovenia, Slovakia, Latvia, Romania and Norway.

The news additions mean that from August 8, there will be 36 countries or territories on the green list for travel.

Many of the existing green list countries are on the ‘green watchlist’, which means they are at risk of moving from green to amber.

So as of August 8, the green list countries will be:

  1. Anguilla (Green watchlist)
  2. Antarctica/British Antarctic Territory (Green watchlist)
  3. Antigua and Barbuda (Green watchlist)
  4. Australia
  5. Austria
  6. Barbados (Green watchlist)
  7. Bermuda (Green watchlist)
  8. British Indian Ocean Territory (Green watchlist)
  9. Brunei
  10. Bulgaria
  11. Cayman Islands (Green watchlist)
  12. Croatia (Green watchlist)
  13. Dominica (Green watchlist)
  14. Falkland Islands
  15. Faroe Islands
  16. Germany
  17. Gibraltar
  18. Grenada (Green watchlist)
  19. Hong Kong
  20. Iceland
  21. Israel and Jerusalem (Green watchlist)
  22. Latvia
  23. Madeira (Green watchlist)
  24. Malta
  25. Montserrat (Green watchlist)
  26. New Zealand
  27. Norway
  28. Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands (Green watchlist)
  29. Romania
  30. Singapore
  31. Slovakia
  32. Slovenia
  33. South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands
  34. St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  35. Taiwan (Green watchlist)
  36. Turks and Caicos Islands (Green watchlist)

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said the new additions to the green list should “reopen a range of different holiday destinations” for people this summer.

Mr Shapps said: “We are committed to opening up international travel safely, taking advantage of the gains we’ve made through our successful vaccination programme, helping connect families, friends and businesses around the world.

“While we must continue to be cautious, today’s changes reopen a range of different holiday destinations across the globe, which is good news for both the sector and travelling public.”

As well as some new additions to the green list, several countries were added to the amber and red list at the latest travel review.

Spain expat warns of ‘difficulty’ accessing healthcare [ANALYSIS]
Spain holidays: Nation reports loss of five million tourists in 2021 [INSIGHT]
Will you avoid holidays to Europe after charge for Britons announced? [POLL]

What are the green list rules?

Adults and children aged 11 and over must take a COVID-19 test before travelling to England.

Before travelling to England from a green list country, travellers must also book and pay for a day 2 COVID-19 test, which must be taken after arriving in England.

Travellers are also required to complete a passenger locator form before arriving in England.

Children aged four and under do not need to take the day 2 Covid test after arrival.

People travelling to England from a green list country are not required to quarantine, unless they test positive for COVID-19 or they are contacted by NHS Test and Trace.

How has the traffic light system changed?

As a result of the latest travel review, India, Bahrain, Qatar and the UAE will be moved from the red to the amber list.

Georgia, Mexico, La Reunion and Mayotte have been added to the red list.

Last month, extra travel restrictions were imposed on France, which meant fully vaccinated people would still need to quarantine upon arrival in England despite France being on the amber list.

However, it has been announced that arrivals from France will no longer need to quarantine when they return to England if they are fully vaccinated.

Source: Read Full Article